The township of Adelong today is surrounded by its golden heritage. There are remnants of Adelong’s booming gold mining days in the heritage-listed Adelong Falls Gold Mill Ruins – a must-see destination situated 1.5kms from Adelong, about an hour from Wagga Wagga. 

Take a wander through the historic Adelong Falls Gold Mill Ruins, see close-up the gold processing works and enjoy the beauty of the rocky Adelong Creek. This hidden gem is the perfect spot for a picnic, taking some stunning photographs or to cool off in some of the deeper pools. Gold can still be found in the creek so why not try your hand at gold panning? Kids and adults alike will love every minute of a day spent at Adelong Falls.

Interpretive signage, providing a comprehensive history of the site, and viewing platform is wheelchair accessible from the lower car park. The remarkable stone ruins of the ingenious Reefer ore crushing machine remain for all visitors to see from the viewing platform. A meandering walk of about an hour leads down from the platform to Adelong Creek and the ruins, with signposts along the route describing the various items relating to the site. 

The Adelong Gold Rush began in 1852 with the discovery of alluvial gold at upper Adelong. The Adelong gold field was declared in 1855, and in 1857 reef gold was discovered in the hills above Adelong. The Reef ore was processed in the ore crushing mills along the creek. The Adelong Falls Gold Mill, which once processed ore from Adelong and the wider region, ceased operation in 1914.

Records indicate 5 tonnes of gold were sent to the Sydney mint from the Reefer ore crushing mill. An estimated total of 25 tonnes of gold was extracted in the Adelong area, while an additional 26 tonnes was recorded from the Gibraltar operation, further down the creek at Grahamstown, where there was reef mining, dredging and sluicing with power supplied by the ‘mighty” Adelong creek. 

https://www.visitnsw.com/destinations/snowy-mountains/tumut-area/attractions/adelong-falls-gold-mill-ruins