The nation’s quintessential pioneering country town, steeped in Aussie folklore and legend.

Situated midway between Sydney and Melbourne, Gundagai has long been a favourite stopping place for travellers. In the pioneer days, teamsters, drovers, shearers and bush travellers would often stop at Five Mile Creek. The spirit of these pioneering days is captured in the iconic Australian songs, “On The Road To Gundagai” and “The Dog On The Tuckerbox”. Today, “The Dog” has been immortalised in a statue located five miles from Gundagai.

Gundagai is steeped in history. Some of the town’s oldest buildings are located in Sheridan Street, including the Court House which was completed in 1859. Prince Alfred Bridge was built in 1866 and is the longest timber viaduct in the Southern Hemisphere.

 

Visit the Gundagai Tourism website for more tourism information or find the contact details for the Gundagai Visitor Information Centre here.